March: Quitting the Quitting Attitude

I messed up over the past couple of days.  Thursday I didn’t drink enough water.  Friday I couldn’t pull myself out of bed, and when I got home I passed out without flossing or brushing my teeth first.  Today I haven’t eaten breakfast yet and it’s already nearly noon.

Usually this is the situation where I look at my chart, and I say, “Well, of course I could do it on the first day when I felt motivated, but now what’s the point?”  Why is it that small failures make giving up so enticing?  I feel as though since I couldn’t even do it the first couple of days, going on I’m going to feel that there’s no point in even trying.

This is where I need to be kinder to myself.  I’ll keep on trying, and at the end of the week, I’ll treat myself the way I would treat one of my students.  Where are my successes? I’ll ask.  Where do I need work?  If I can’t drink 8 glasses of water per day, maybe I should lower my expectation to four for now and build myself up to it.  But ultimately, the point of this isn’t to succeed or fail, but to become happier, and building these habits despite adversity is a way to, if not happiness, at least some extra energy.

Leave a Reply

