Ramblings: 2016

2016-neues-jahr

We all know about that number. Experts seem to agree, it was a shitshow of a year. I can’t deny that fact either, but when I look back at 2016, even though things in the world at large sucked, I can’t help but think that that was such a small part of my experience.

2015 was the worst year of my life, hands down. I took a difficult job in a city I hated, I left all of my friends behind and had trouble making new ones, I dumped my asshole of a fiancé (which while being a positive change, definitely hurt more than anything I’ve felt), I lost almost 30 pounds by basically starving myself while I sank into depression.

And then 2016 happened.

I started dating my current boyfriend, who by contrast with my ex – fiancé, shows no signs of being an asshole. I made the decision to move back home to Tucson and followed through, moved in with a close friend, rekindled my friendships with my classmates, and began teaching for a school I love.

So I’m hesitant to say I hate 2016 (sorry, John Oliver). But I will readily admit that the news over the last few months gives me great concern. I’m afraid of living in a country where half the people are saying don’t trust the government and the party in charge (which is normal), and the other half are saying don’t trust the media (less normal, but probably true on some level). Who do we trust?

But that’s beside the point. My point is, how much does one’s political climate affect happiness? I look at the news and feel hopeless. I read about families of people killed halfway across the world in bombings and cry. My personal 2016 was nice, and that allows me to escape into my own life (which feels so much more real), but there’s no denying that 2016 was a hard year for the world, and that must affect happiness in some way.

That’s it. I wish I had more answers. Maybe I’ll find them.

Leave a Reply

